Sign in to follow this  
Jri

Advice on training up

Hi everyone,

Firstly, I hope this is in the right section of the forum - feel free to move it if not (I'm new here!).

I work as a graphic designer and illustrator in the UK, both full time and on the side as a freelancer, I am interested in making the switch to become a tattoo artist.

I understand the most commonly accepted way of getting into tattooing is to apprentice under another more established and experienced tattoo artist. The problem that I have is that my wife and I share the household expenses and ultimately rely on my income - so the idea of losing time through the week to work for free is not practical for me. What is the best/standard way of getting around this?

I have space in my garage and am planning on decking it out as a home studio eventually, but to be clear; I don't want to just blindly start up with no experience/good practice knowledge.

At the moment, I am putting together a portfolio of drawings and am thinking of taking it to show at some of the studios in my area. The hope is that someone may be interested in taking me on on a Saturday perhaps? So that I can learn the ropes, health and safety, tattoo process/technique etc...

Is this an acceptable approach?

Any suggestions/personal experiences would be great - how long did each of you apprentice for before going it alone? Did you go full/part time?

Not too many tattooers like being cold called about apprenticeships. Have you been getting your tattoos from a particular artist? Talk to him/her about it.  Otherwise, read up on machine function, technique and reputable suppliers. Most of the equipment available to the general public is garbage. Take a course in cross contamination prevention and blood born pathogens - and then overkill the safety precautions you've learned.  Tattoo your own legs.  Tattoo a very understanding friend. If you can draw well, you've got a good head start.