Long time no see.. Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  
Casanova

Spring Tension

Can anyone explain to me what spring tension and throw actually mean? I know when I am taking apart and putting my machines back together how I want them to work and feel and if I have issues it is hard to research or explain when I do not understand machine language. I am studying at figuring out every technical name for the parts, I am blessed that my father has his masters in engineering and is able to explain to me scientifically what is happening with the currents ext, but when it come's down to the artistic aspects of tuning it and setting it up to work in different ways, that I've been on my own with and learning more about my machines, especially language would really help me. What does it mean if a machine does not have enough "throw"? Thanks guys!

Throw is the distance your needle will move vertically. Spring tension is controlled by the thickness of your spring, length of your spring and upward bends of your spring. Different tensions are desirable for different setups.

Okay I'm trying to put in mental pictures with what your saying. So if someone had too much throw and was riding their tubes than they could really be scarring people up? What is the significance of throw versus how far you hang your needle and control needle depth? Now to spring tension, is it a spring tension issue if I'm trying to single pass lines, on properly pulled skin and the needle sticks and stops the pass? Do o-rings increase spring tension or reduce it?

if you mean stick in the skin i would assume it is your rear spring. dont quote me or anything im newer then you at this lol but being that the rear spring pulls the a-bar from the coils it sounds like it is to weak. what needle grouping are you using and spring gauge? again i could be wrong lol