Long time no see.. Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  
Charlie Skynyard

First Go At Dotwork...

Well, i had a girl booked in for this evening and was after something on her foot but didn't really know what she wanted. So after a bit of sketching and scribbling we came up with a shape and idea we liked. Then flicking through a magazine i came across some dot work, and really liked the effect it gave. I ran it past her and she loved the idea.

So, we went for it. I think i pulled it off, but as it's not something i've got a lot of knowledge of i'm not sure if theres anything else i should have been keeping in mind.

Anyway, here it is. Any opinions or advice?

IMG00176-20100408-1825.jpg

I really like like that , the dots perfectly suggest the shapes , I would like to try something like this on my own leg over the weekend to add on to some tattoos I already have ,

did you do the whole tattoo by "dotting" or did you use solid black filling technique for the darker parts (small circles , darker parts of the petals) and dot the rest

also do you do the dots at the depth for lining or shading? , what voltage were you using and what machine?

sorry to ask a million questions but i'd like to start to learn a new technique

I don't know if I like it and I'm usually a sucker for dotwork... its like the shapes (espescially the one closest to the heel) aren't quite defined enough, and the large one next to it isn't quite round enough to make it flow. There is an (expensive) book just put out by the woman who does the Needles & Sins blog called Blackwork Tattoos which is epic.

My favorite dotwork tattoo artist, by far, is marc from the swastika freakshop:

http://www.little-swastika.com/en/tattoo.html

I'd study the shit out of this guys work before having another go at it... I imagine dotwork is just like trad in that you have to really dedicate yourself to it before you can pull it off (but don't quote me on that!)